Wednesday, December 8, 2010

About Me!

Who am I? My name is Shawna Mattinson, I was born in Grande Prairie and grew up in Airdrie. When I was eighteen I moved out of my parents house and into Calgary. I enjoy being independent and making my own decisions. I would love to purchase my own home one day. I have loving parents and two wonderful sisters, one is older and the other is my twin. I love spending time with my family, they are a big part of my life.

I am an active person who loves meeting new people and experiencing new things. I enjoy going out with friends, movies, reading, and television shows such as Big Brother, Survivor, and Glee.

I have worked very hard at learning how to use a computer and am proud to say I am quite good with one now. I cannot use the mouse, but have learned how to navigate the tool bar to complete what I want done. My entire book was written on a computer and now I have a laptop which I take with me everywhere I go.

I have recently graduated from the Web Design program at Academy of Learning.
Before I took the Web Design program I volunteered in positions where I used computer skills I had learned during school. These positions were in a variety of settings such as an office, golf store, book store. Now I happy to say that I am working at E-Debit Global Corporation.

I am writing a book about my life and living with cerebral palsy. This book is taking me a long time to write and includes my thoughts and feelings about my life and having cerebral palsy. It's in the final writing stages and I'm hoping to get it out soon! Check out the “My Book” link for an excerpt and publishing information when it's available.

I enjoy travelling and have taken trips with my family and friends. We have visited relatives in British Columbia, Prince Edward Island, Nova Scotia, and New Brunswick. Our last family holiday was to the Dominican Republic. I also went to Mazatlan, Mexico with my best friend. I enjoyed touring around looking at various sites and spending time on the beach. My list of places to visit includes Denmark, Paris, and London.

In the future I would like to open a coffee shop that is wheel chair accessible, making it easier for everyone to get together. People could sit and read magazines while drinking their coffee. Of course my book would be available for purchase too! I would also like to publish a magazine aimed at people with disabilities, focusing on their accomplishments and goals.